FOCUS FIVE: MORE GRAPHIC DESIGN

Contents

1.  BESPOKE MAGAZINE

2. PHOTOSHOP TRAINING, THE WATER COLOUR EFFECT

This was a quick project. I’ve always liked magazines and their graphic design layout. I was interested to create a two page spread for a fictional magazine. The theme of the magazine is fashion and I gave it the name BESPOKE.

I choose the fashion icon Leigh Bowery for the main article. His style was memorable and visually you can’t go wrong. The second smaller article is featuring a photographer friend of mine.

In order to create this magazine, I formed the template in InDesign. Here is an early draft of how it looked with rulers and guides.

I aslo wanted to create a seperate text heading for the photographer Mauro.This was achieved using Illistrator. I have little experience of using this design package so it was a learning curve in itself.

Using a pen feature I was able to create the Mauro heading and then editing it to stretch the letters to create a fairly interesting look. Here is a capture from illistrator.

And here is the final magazine spread.

bespoke mag layout

Management Report, Photoshop training

My management report involved creating a document which examines a site from a management point of view. I decided to opt for the Japanese Gateway at Kew Gardens.  I wanted to show here the process involved in developing some Photoshop skills in order to get a nice look for my report.

The first thing I wanted to decide on was how the report should look. I felt that it should have a traditional old parchment look. I was also keen to create a look which has a soft water colour effect.

In order to create the cover image and text I had to watch a few U tube tutorials. The first layer is a texture layer which gives the effect of paper.

Next I placed the parchment image found on google images and stretched it to fit the canvas.

You then allocate a multipy blend to the layer. The image you want to create a watercolour effect from, is then placed.

Resize the pic and place it below the parchment layer. The go to Layer/ layer mask/ hide all. The image will disappear and then it allows you to paint on ur image. In order to get a water colour effect I downloaded brushes from the internet. After doing this you simply choose varying sizes of brushes and dab in a painting. The more brush strokes the more photo real the images becomes. Here is the result of using quite soft water colour brushes.

I like the effect, it is just about looking like both a photo and painting. To get a  bit of roughness to the edges of the paint work I used the rubber tool but set it at to a paintbrush style and brought the opacity right down.

The last step was to add the text. This was done by creating the text but putting a mask (as above) on the layer. This allowed me again to paint in the text using brushes. This took a little care as I wanted the text to look worn but at the same time it had to be read easily.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

